Tags

, ,

Don’t you love God’s open doors?

Door_opening, by Marthax

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.  –  Revelation 3:20

768px-Israel_Batch_2_(7), open door

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and (the door) will be opened to you.        For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.  –  Matthew 7:7-8

768px-Israel_Batch_1_(701), door

Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep… If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved,       and go in and out, and will find pasture.  –  John 10:7 & 9

God wants me to have open doors in my life, too.

Doors giving access, allowing His love to flow through.

A young mom took nursing classes at a local college.

With three school age children, most evenings were spent doing homework

and preparing for the next day.

Secluded in her bedroom with the door closed,

every five minutes or so she’d hear a knock, knock, knock.

Come in, she called.

The knob would turn, the door would open and a small head would peek around,

followed by the body of one of her offspring.

Mom… began the first question. Then another question, and another.

With questions answered and problems solved,

the child padded out of the room and closed the door.

This would go on all evening…

her study time being regularly interrupted by curiosity or insecurity or even at times, necessity.

One evening she decided to study in her bedroom with the door open.

Occasionally one of her children would walk by or step in to make inquiry.

But surprisingly, there were few interruptions.

They found security in being able to see her.

And she was able to spend more time concentrating and studying.

Open doors can usher us into new and stronger relationships…

Door_with_a_wreath_(8271308906), by Jessica Spengler

exciting adventures… greater possibilities…

Defense_gov_photo_essay_101005-A-3108M-007

for worship… for business… for hospitality…

1280px-Piddington_StNicholas_ChancelSouth, by Motacilla

Some doors close out the noise and chaos of the world,

refusing entrance to anything unwelcomed in our midst.

And there are times for a door to remain closed.

But not all the time.

At the age of twelve Jesus knocked on my door,

offering to enter my heart and change my world forever.

Once He was allowed entrance, I gained access to His world,

His family and His eternal Kingdom.

But God Who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together in Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.  –  Ephesians 2:4-7

Opening my door to Him gives me the privilege and freedom to step through His door

whenever I want, however often I need to…

whether in seeking favor or forgiveness.

His door is always open to those who belong to Him.

Is my door open as God’s door is open?

I will make greater effort in keeping my door open to others…

To be aware of needs, spoken or not…

to reach out with a smile, to grasp a hand or give a hug…

simply because those small gestures are meant to bless…

and when trials come and storms rage all around, every little blessing is a keepsake.

Sometimes a door is closed because I’ve offended, ignored, or treated harshly

or unworthily another human being…

If my insensitivity or unguarded tongue has caused a misunderstanding, my door should be open for honest communication and repentance and restoration.

I don’t want anything to chain or block or refuse entrance through the doorways

God wants to keep open in my life.

Bishophousejerusalem3

(First photo of door courtesy of Marthax; photo of door with wreath courtesy of Jessica Spengler; photo of St. Nicholas Church courtesy of Motacilla)

