Tags

, ,

I will praise You with uprightness of heart, when I learn Your righteous judgments…

I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways;

I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your Word…

bible-177128_640, with purple

Open my eyes, that I may see wondrous things from Your law…

Your testimonies are also my delight and my counselors…  –  Psalm 119

As modern women of faith, are we fitting God into our busy lives, or squeezing Him out?

clock-64265_640

Do we intentionally set aside… designate… and guard a valuable slot of personal time to spend with the One who created us, who purposed a good work in us and for us, and who loves us most?

Even for we who work from home, countless activities and opportunities compete for our time—for all 1,440 minutes of every day.

Where does the time go? And what do we have to show for it?

Automated machines to do much of our work for us;

Harried parents exchange car-pooling duties;

The chicken, salad, potatoes, rolls, drinks and the jelled dessert came to our kitchen table already prepared by hands not our own;

We serve and devour our meals on plastic plates and wipe our hands on disposable wipes, to avoid the extra work of cleaning up and washing dishes.

So, as our modern conveniences take care of day to day chores, what is it exactly that we do with all the free time we’ve been given?

How do we divide the hours in each of our days?

And in the bank of eternity, which accounts do our investments of time slip into?

big ben clock-2663_640

After spending almost 30 years as a stay-at-home mom, I am now a woman who’s “on-the-go” more than ever before, with my borders enlarged and a flourishing list of responsibilities… yet with the same amount of time I’ve always had.

My babies are mostly grown, and the Preacher helps out however he can. Yet still, at the end of the day, I’ve run out of time. But I’ve not run out of things to do.

Over the past few years as this dilemma presses on me more and more, I’ve had to do some major shifting of priorities, without neglecting the things most important in my life and to my family.

It looks a lot like learning to juggle. While hopping on one foot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have yet to master it, but in the learning I’m discovering something—a critical and timely truth:

You and I must be exceedingly careful not to neglect our souls, not to forsake, not to cease in the caring, the feeding and the nurturing of the one eternal element of our being.

belief-2657_640, Bibles

My soul clings to the dust; revive me according to your word…

Make me understand the way of Your precepts; so shall I meditate on Your wonderful works…

I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me…

IMG_5694

Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes… Give me understanding and I shall keep Your law; indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart…

Incline my heart to Your testimonies, and not to coveteousness…

Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, and revive me in Your way…  –  Psalm 119

Praying_statue, Guillaume Paumier, CC-BY

This means being in God’s Word and in private prayer every day.

To be continued…

 

(Photo of jugglers courtesy of David Shankbone)

 

