Tags

, ,

What does my devotional life look like today? And honestly, how has it looked lately?

It requires a conscious decision to fix my thoughts on Jesus…

101_3897

To intentionally carve out a chunk of time each day to sit with my Bible and to read the sacred words…

to listen for the Holy Spirit’s whisperings…

to think, to meditate, to linger on a passage of Scripture…

to receive and absorb spiritual nourishment and Godly wisdom…

to renew my mind with principles and promises written especially for me… and all who are like me, made in His image.

I beseech (beg, implore, plead with) you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present yourselves a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to (tailored, attuned, harmonizing or complying with) this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.  –  Romans 12:1-2

Sorry, but one minute a day—did you know, there is actually a One-Minute-A-Day Bible?—is not enough for strengthening spiritual muscles and building endurance within my soul and spirit.

knights-armor-142694_640

How many believers long to be stronger, more victorious, of greater influence, and a brighter light in the darkness that grows ever darker?

candle-139120_640

Can I not give God half an hour at least? I do not want my love of pleasure or anything material or time wasted on fluff to squeeze out my love for God… to cause me to lose my First Love…

Some mornings I jump out of bed practically running, and the fast forward button on my life isn’t released until I climb into bed that night. When first entering the kitchen to make lunches and prepare for the new day, I wonder, Wasn’t I just in here a few hours ago? It can’t be morning already!

These are the days when I rely on mini devotions… a Psalm or a chapter from Proverbs is enough to think on for an entire day. I tuck a pocket-size Bible or devotional book into my tote bag, to take with me when I’m on-the-go.

101_3905

But on days spent entirely at home, before the sun ascends too far above the horizon, I’m sometimes able to enjoy the luxurious gift of stillness… sitting uninterrupted for moments stretched on, to read and think and pray.

Perhaps the gnawing in my soul is a craving for more of God’s presence in my life… more of His power… more of His eternal perspective…

After a few days of a hectic schedule I literally feel the burdens of life weighing down on my fragile, weary frame. That’s when the Holy Spirit presses me to my knees, urging me to unload the heavy weight of earthly cares onto His shoulders.

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.  –  Matthew 11:28-30

