Tags

, , , , ,

I am sometimes in situations where character falls short,

and integrity is scarce,

Where cleanliness, organization and the disciplined life

are mistaken for twisted perfectionism…

While those around me delight in thwarting my efforts, ignoring my pleas,

shoving away any small influence for good I might be able to accomplish.

It is a difficult trial, perpetually yielding to those who find pleasure

in perverse ideologies and things corrupted,

attempting to convince me and others that beauty is there,

when obviously it is not…picEmperors-New-Clothes1

An Emporer obtusely parading new attire,

when all can see the truth he alone denies.

Yet, I must remember,

I too am destitute of truest beauty at times, and in ways I wish to ammend.

tree-branches-17831_640

Unfortunately, in retrospect I see dates and places,

instances when I myself lacked in what is noble and beautiful—

And I am ashamed, determined to cast off the ugliness

of my fleshly nature, my carnal self…

To make room for excellence.

As I come before my God for cleansing, for order,

for learning of Him and setting things right,

I glimpse a tiny particle of the beauty of my Savior within me.

cross-prayer-106416_640

Falling to my knees and begging Him to continue His work,

allowing His refining fires to purify, to polish, to smooth…

it becomes far easier to accept the flaws in my surroundings, in humanity.

Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.  –  Philippians 1:6

I very much understand how the sighting of simple beauty can erase

the despair within a melancholy soul,

Picture 013

lifting you or me to once again arise on wings of hope.

Then God saw everything that He had made, and indeed it was very good.

So the evening and the morning were the first day.  –  Genesis 1:31

flower-meadow-175110_640

Trusting that someday God will, in one final blow, destroy

all that is ugly and painful, difficult, chaotic, destructive,

slanderous, deceptive, completely void of beauty and virtue.

In this in between time, though, of waiting for redemption

And journeying one step at a time to our eternal destination,

I sense the need for me personally to carry beauty…

daisy-75190_640

to bring with me a filling of the Spirit,

pouring, sharing, extending,

cherry-basket-4130_640

grace and beauty wherever I go, in whatever I do,

reflecting the radiant, matchless, holy attributes of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Honor and majesty are before Him; strength and beauty are in His sanctuary.  –  Psalm 96:6

One thing I have desired of the Lord, that will I seek:

That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life,

To behold the beauty of the Lord,

And to inquire in His temple.  –  Psalm 27:4

Where there is no vision, the people perish…  –  Psalm 29:18

Reminders of sin’s disfigurement abound …

hurricane-destruction-63005_640

homeless-55492_640

Buchenwald_survivor_drinking_from_a_bowl

without God’s children contributing to the dearth of goodness.

Shall I respond to the call?

Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the Lord,

she shall be praised.  –  Proverbs 31:30

Oh, worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness!  –  Psalm 96:9

 

