Tags

, ,

Daybreak,

arizona-sunrise-165094_640
Noontime,

daytime-sky-90990_640
Evening’s Glow,

pink-sunset-20398_640
Moonlight,

moon-with-mountains-182145_640
Starlight,

the-pleiades-star-cluster-11637_640
Darkest before the Dawn…

abstract-16967_640

Where I live the road takes me up and over,
Down and around,
Across rivers and streams,
Near the edge of mountain cliffs…
yosemite-national-park-51516_640
My gaze stretches for miles beyond valleys, over hills, above peaks…

In lifting my eyes, I follow trails of jets soaring along invisible paths

in the limitless expanse of blue above my head.

photography-103144_640

Yet…

A solid black curtain blocks my view of the future,

In a way I’ve rarely experienced,

As if the blackness can be felt,

obscuring all but what exists right now—today.

This body goes through the motions,

Taking care of everyday tasks,

Scribbling events and appointments and responsibilities,

In little squares representing days, weeks, months…

Going here, going there,

Speaking, smiling, calling, writing,

Preparing, fixing, cleaning, shopping, nurturing, hugging…

All the while remembering,

Verses given to me months ago,

When a sudden turn of events took me on an unexpected detour,

In this earthly pilgrimage…

I can’t help but wonder,

What lies on the other side of the black curtain.

texture-90545_640

For since the beginning of the world men have not heard nor perceived by the ear, Nor has the eye seen any God besides You, Who acts for the one who waits for Him. You meet him who rejoices and does righteousness, who remembers You in Your ways.  – Isaiah 64:4-5

Have not I commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.  –  Joshua 1:9

