Tags

, , , ,

Early in my young life it became apparent that my legs weren’t growing at the same angle or rate. After a trip to the pediatrician my dad and mom brought me home with a hip brace. I wore it every night for several weeks, to realign the femur bone inside the hip socket.

Photo courtesy of  Wikimedia Commons, Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License

Photo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons, Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License

(The condition is called Hip Displaysia. DDH is more common in girls, firstborns and breech babies—and I answer to all three. Sincerest apologies to my mom for not being turned head first for my arrival! But since using the brace, I haven’t had any other hip or leg problems.)

There are those who think of Jesus as a crutch. Refusing the offer of salvation, they’d rather live without Him.

But Jesus is not a crutch to merely aid my crippled psyche… allowing me to hobble through life, one agonizing day at a time.

disability-224133_640

Jesus is the brace that straightens my crookedness.

Comfort ye, comfort ye my people, says your God… her warfare is accomplished… her iniquity is pardoned… Every valley shall be exalted, and every mountain and hill shall be made low… the crooked shall be made straight… the rough places plain: and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed…  –  Isaiah 40

