Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Salvation is so much more than one decision made in a single moment.

I say a prayer. Write the date inside my Bible. Then off I go, like always.

Not quite. It’s a start, but that’s not all.

And if it’s real, it’s just the beginning.

And they put up over His head the accusation written against Him: THIS IS JESUS THE KING OF THE JEWS. Then two robbers were crucified with Him, one on the right and another on the left. And those who passed by blasphemed Him, wagging their heads and saying, You who destroy the temple and build it in three days, save Yourself! If You are the Son of God, come down from the cross. Likewise the chief priests also, mocking with the scribes and elders, said, He saved others; Himself He cannot save. If He is the King of Israel, let Him now come down from the cross, and we will believe Him. He trusted in God; let Him deliver Him now if He will have Him; for He said, I am the Son of God.  –  Matthew 27:37-43

sky-195430_640

If heartfelt repentance led to the decision, everything within me will turn 180 degrees, from stumbling in darkness, from walking my own way, to following the Savior, in agreement with God… deciding from that moment on to walk in His footprints day after day after day.

At that defining point in time my destiny was forever changed. From darkness to light. From lightlessness to darklessness. From a state of no light, to the place where Light is beyond bright—brighter than the sun.

Blessed is the Lord God of Israel, for He has visited and redeemed His people, and has raised up a horn of salvation for us in the house of His servant David, as He spoke by the mouth of His holy prophets, who have been since the world began, that we should be saved from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us, to perform the mercy promised to our fathers and to remember His holy covenant, the oath which He swore to our father Abraham: to grant us that we, being delivered from the hand of our enemies, might serve Him without fear, in holiness and righteousness before Him all the days of our life. And you, child, will be called the prophet of the Highest; for you will go before the face of the Lord to prepare His ways, to give knowledge of salvation to His people by the remission of their sins, through the tender mercy of our God, with which the Dayspring from on high has visited us; to give light to those who sit in darkness and the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace.  –  Luke 1:68-79

Lord, now You are letting Your servant depart in peace, according to Your word; for my eyes have seen Your salvation which You have prepared before the face of all peoples, a light to bring revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of Your people Israel.  –  Luke 2:29-32

At the temple the old man held in his arms an infant, only days since birth. And God gave him understanding–light to see who the child was. He called the baby Salvation.

you shall call His name Jesus, for He will save His people from their sins.  –  Matthew 1:21

The tiny human had done nothing, except arrive. Yet, His name speaks volumes, referring not to some great task to be accomplished in the future. But to Who He is and why He came. Salvation. The name alone defines the character, the Person, the purpose, the bond resulting from a relationship with Him.

Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.  –  Acts 4:12

jesus-8283_640

Salvation is not a signature on the bottom line, my agreement to regular installments of good-deed payments, made monthly or semi-annually for insurance against eternal fire. This salvation is a way of life. Each new day making the decision anew, to walk with God and not away from Him. In a relationship that keeps budding, continues growing, as our image reflects more of Him.

Because Jesus accepted the weight of the world’s sinfulness, dumped on His shoulders on that darkest day…

because God’s payment made in the place of those owing, in the place of my indebtedness…

I am offered a position with full benefits. But the decision is mine.

Trading my sin as a twelve-year-old girl, for His sinless substitution, my salvation was secured. For eternity.

But it was the first step of many steps in a new direction, on the only path leading to Life.

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?  –  Psalm 27:1

But I will hope continually, and will praise You yet more and more. My mouth shall tell of Your righteousness and Your salvation all the day, for I do not know their limits.  –  Psalm 71:14-15

His life provided the example of how I should live, once I accept the sacrifice made on my behalf.

Each day Jesus’ decisions centered on the Kingdom business of becoming salvation for you and me and every human ever born.

Each day my decisions should spring from the one decision that brought me to Him.

