Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When I dwell where God dwells, I have no reason to be afraid.

God sees this life—every life—from beginning to end. From the instant of conception, hidden and unknown to all but the Giver of life, to the moment I take my last breath, ushering me into the next life.

Reverence for the Most High God will replace any fear clutching me tight—fear of man, of circumstance, disease or drought, enemies nearby or oceans away, dangers, terrors, unexpected traps, unforeseen evils.

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge…  –  Proverbs 1:7

God is here for me, beside and before His child, and always very near, ready to assist in whatever way I need.

But what I do not need is to be afraid.

Outside-of-Jesus-there-image-quote

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress; my God, in Him I will trust… He shall cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you shall take refuge; His truth shall be your shield and buckler… Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, even the Most High, your dwelling place, no evil shall befall you… Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him, and show him My salvation.  –  Psalm 91, known as the Psalm of Protection

The Lord never wearies of answering my cries for help. My Father does not wash His hands of me or my problems. He refuses to walk away from those who are His. He will not abandon the ones who trust in Him.

God loves us, beyond our comprehension. Even when the first act of disobedience proved our love for self was greater than our love for Him—separating us from an intimacy we have yet to know.

He loved us, when we were already in sin, thoroughly unlovable, pitiful creatures suffering from degradation of our own making. He loved us and loves us still.

And with that love comes the promise of His care. He sees all. He knows all. We do not need to be afraid.

Not when leaving what is familiar to settle among strangers. Not while fire rages down the mountain, or the earth shakes beneath our feet. Not as the news of wars and rumors of wars swirls around us. Not when the threat of cancer hovers way too close. Not even when telling loved ones Goodbye.

In Deuteronomy 31 and in Joshua 1 God assured Joshua He was with His people as they prepared to conquer foreign territory, to enter the land promised to them years before.

In the Psalms David copied God’s promises to him of safety while running for his life from a deranged king.

And in the Gospels Jesus repeated His words of comfort to the disciples and to individuals, who came to Him, who called on Him… those who had run out of options, and had no one else to turn to.

Jairus went to Jesus. Believing the Healer could heal his daughter. But time wasn’t on her side as she lay at home dying. Jairus had heard of the miracles, and perhaps Jairus saw. And Jairus believed.

He reached the man called Jesus. Told Him his need. Then Jesus turned to go with him—back toward home, offering help, bringing hope.

Yes! Because He is coming she will be healed. She will not die! But we must hurry!

As Jairus walked away from the crowd, his steps going were lighter perhaps than his steps coming. And quicker.

But the crowd kept pressing against this father and the Teacher, bumping into them as they tried to move away, tried to reach the girl in time. Before life slipped away. Before hope disintegrated.

Then, Jesus stopped. Who touched my clothes? He asked.

What?!? A ludicrous question in this crowd! Even his followers agreed.

You see the multitude thronging You, and You say, Who touched Me?  –  Mark 5:31

Still, the Healer stood. Waiting, looking, searching for something, or someone?

As his daughter lay dying.

A woman stepped forward and knelt in front of the Man. Poured out her story about a disease that would not be cured no matter how many doctors she went to. Her money, spent, her body, bleeding…

What is He doing? My daughter is dying!

The Man stood, listening, caring. Attention completely diverted away from Jairus and his need.

While his daughter lay dying.

The longer they tarried, the less chance remained that the girl would survive. If we do not leave now it will be too late!

jerusalem-331380_640

The woman finished her story. And Jesus spoke. The same words of comfort Jairus had heard him speak to others, the same words of healing. The words he believed would heal his daughter.

The words He should be speaking now to my daughter.

But as Jesus’ words healed the woman, servants from the house of Jairus approached with news.

Your daughter is dead. Why trouble the Teacher any further?  –  Mark 5:35

Before his head fell into his hands, Jesus spoke.

Do not be afraid; only believe. 

Again, Jesus turned and walked toward Jairus’ home.

To be continued…

