Tags

, , , , , ,

Slimey things. Sucking the life out of whatever they attach themselves to. Result of the Fall.

Used for bait. And in archaic medicine. Thankfully we’ve learned a few things since George Washington’s day.

leech-368345_640

Occasionally I’ll receive a note from a friend saying how my faith strengthens her. But I wonder about these notes coming from friends who aren’t actively pursuing God. Who struggle needlessly, without any real faith of their own.

I’m glad to be of help, but my faith can only stretch so far. And my faith is my faith—not theirs. Not that I’m selfish. But don’t they realize, God has more than enough resources to strengthen the faith of all His children? And more besides.

It’s like this:

God wants to build their faith as much as He wants to build mine. Yeah, I’m in the ministry and in the trenches, and need an over-abundance on a daily basis.

But each child of God can and really must build her faith—for herself, to encourage and be the example for those closest to her. To make decisions and face the battles that come in her life.

He wants you to call on Him and come to Him and cling to Him and grow in Him. To have a relationship with Him of your very own. Because He’s not only God the Creator and God the Savior, He’s God the Father and God the Comforter and the Lover of my soul.

He loves us too much to let us get away with leeching a little faith when we need it from a friend, instead of tapping into the main source ourselves.

But you, beloved, building yourselves up on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.  –  Jude 1:20

One of these same friends told me once, That may work for you, but I tried it, and it doesn’t work for me.

So, in her mind, pursuing God only works for some but doesn’t work for all?

I thought that, too. A long time ago.

In my early twenties struggling to understand most everything, I watched, and actually envied, other women whose faith rocked solid.

Women filled with faith, radiating the peace of knowing all is secure, moving with assurance beyond anything I had ever experienced. Women who knew God, who knew His hands held her tight and would not let her go.

I wanted to know God in the same way.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  –  Jeremiah 29:11

Such a great verse. But it’s just the starting point. We’ll miss so much if we don’t keep reading:

Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.  –  Jeremiah 29:12-13

When reading these verses for the first time, God whispered, This means you. If you will pray, and you will seek, I will answer.

I started reading more of His Words to me, and discovered truths He wanted to share with me, to solidify my faith. And it worked. Because I didn’t stop reading. I haven’t stopped praying. And I hope I never stop seeking. Or believing.

Because I don’t want to be a leech.

