Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A blog is a place to experiment for writers and ranters, for thinkers and the opinionated, the politically motivated and creative-doers and fashionistas…

It’s a virtual kitchen island for the baker. A typewriter and desk for the journalist. A workshop for the craftsman (or woman). An easel for the artist.

painting-563468_640

This is where I record my thoughts. And my blog title is my name. Plain and simple. I know, self-promoting looks too much like I’m self-absorbed. But it’s highly advised in this culture of social media.

It goes against my nature to sell myself. But on the flip-side, as a writer and budding author, as a speaker and teacher of the Word to women, I want my name associated with, attached and linked to the multiple sites publishing my words. So, I’ve learned to see it as promoting my musings.

But what’s my platform?

Ya gotta have a platform! I’m reminded constantly.

After changing my subtitle a few times these past couple years, I’ve made a decision.

Blossom.

flower-716938_640

Because that’s what roses do. And to some of us, roses are the most beautiful flower. The flower we think of when we dream of love and life and romance, of weddings and soft baby kisses and memories of the most special occasions.

Hence, photos of roses in the header and in this post.

cake-16887_640

And here at my blog, my heart beats with this unstoppable yearning to inspire women to blossom.

To bloom where they’re planted. To soak up every tiny drop of moisture and reach for each ray of sunlight, no matter how small, and to do what the Creator has designed us to do as plantings in His garden of delights.

If He can coax something worthwhile from my paltry life, He can do something really amazing with yours.

I mean it.

Are you single? Married? Mothering? Ministering? Teaching? Nursing? Administrating in an office somewhere? On a mission field? In a jungle? A desert? On a stage? Or maybe you live and work in an obscure corner in the middle of nowhere?

Wherever you are, whatever your hands keep busy with, no matter how insignificant or less-than-average you view yourself…

Blossom.

mothers-day-617702_640

The wilderness and the wasteland shall be glad for them, and the desert shall rejoice and blossom as the rose; it shall blossom abundantly and rejoice, even with joy and singing… For waters shall burst forth in the wilderness, and streams in the desert. The parched ground shall become a pool, and the thirsty land springs of water…  –  Isaiah 35

It’s what you were born to do. And it speaks of the Creator.

Even when the odds aren’t in your favor. When all around you is drought and hope is dried up.

God is the Master Gardener. For His glory. And for your good.

Remember? He spoke worlds into existence and brought something out of nothing. Meaning, purpose and beauty appeared in place of chaos.

And it can again in your life.

So, breathe deep.

*inhale*

Fix your mind’s eye on your favorite flower – even if it’s not a rose. *wink*

Then *exhale*

Now lift your face to Heaven and unfold those petals to do what you were created to do, to become the blossom He intends you to be.

rose-687966_640

And as beauty emerges, you will inspire others to blossom.

