Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I’m thinkin’ is…

I’m out of strawberries – another boring breakfast.

OR…

The strawberries were divine last week! And this week I get blueberries! 

blueberries-870514_640

(In too many countries most people don’t have menu choices. Like, menus? Recipes? What are those? They have rice. And maybe a vegetable. For every meal, every day.)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

It’s cloudy again. I’m so ready for winter to be over.

OR…

Clouds again – thank you, Jesus, for the rain!

(In each weather pattern God’s handiwork is evident. And the changing seasons provide a rhythm to life and add interest to my days.)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

More laundry? More dishes?

OR…

We are so blessed. Father, what can I do without, so I can give more to those who have so little?

(I’ve been to Mexico and seen children begging on the streets and families living in tiny shacks made of salvaged sheets of corrugated tin.)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Those goats! I wish they’d stay on their side of the fence and leave my roses alone! Why doesn’t the owner do something?

OR…

*sitting on my window seat in our bedroom* I love listening to the kid goats calling their mamas, and watching them skip through the grass!

goat-972567_640

(There is something to be learned in even the smallest wonders of Creation. When I take the time to notice and praise God, I’m refreshed.)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

This house needs so much work, and it never stays clean. It’s old and crooked and takes too much time and effort to fix it up. And we’re stuck in the middle of nowhere, and we spend so much money on gas, and I hardly ever see my friends and… WAA-AAA!

OR…

Thank you, Lord, for giving me my dream house, nestled in rolling hills and surrounded by Your quiet beauty. And for the opportunity to fix it up, because it reminds me of the tenderness and care you put into me when I need fixing up.

(Which is like every day, but we won’t go there. LOL

And every house has problems, every neighborhood, every circumstance, every relationship. But in every case, there are redeemable qualities worth the effort.)

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Soo… what I’m thinkin’ is…

My thoughts are either set on finding good, or they’re lost in the black abyss of negativity and ingratitude.

My thoughts will steer me toward joy or away from it.

My thoughts draw people close, or send them looking somewhere else for a friend.

And my thoughts lead me toward my goals, or bog me down, sucking out any creative energy and passion, and keeping me from accomplishing something amazing – with God’s help, of course, when I remember to take my problems to Him.

Are you thinkin’ what I’m thinkin’?

