Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

We understand good. We know what it looks like. We recognize it in ourselves and in others.

And we know what it doesn’t look like.

We recognize bad, even though we don’t know where it came from or why it exists. We don’t see ourselves as bad. Not really. And some people don’t come to Jesus, because of this.

No way I’m SO bad that a man had to die a tortuous death for ME!

But actually, yes. You are.

And I am.

And He did.

In a fallen world, this is what holy looks like.

And this is the truth so many individuals have tripped over for centuries. How my badness traded for His goodness can equal holiness. Or goodness. And redemption. And relationship.

And life for eternity with Him. With the One whose image we were stamped with, in whose likeness we were created.

And so begins this privilege extended to each one who takes the first step of faith, who whispers or begs or yells out for pardon.

I have access to Him for the great spiritual needs as well as for the trivial and important-only-to-me needs.

Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. – Hebrews 4:16

God responds to my faith, no matter how simple or complex the situation is that brings me to His feet and presses me on my knees… seeking wisdom, strength, just plain help.

It’s the call unto Me principle in Jeremiah 33:3,

the throw all my cares on Him principle in 1 Peter 5:6-7,

the don’t worry about a thing, silly girl, cuz I’ve got your back principle in Isaiah 41:10.

But I don’t have to be a silly girl when I’m an Abba-Papa-Daddy’s girl.

Because the rest of the verse goes like this:

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.

Oh! How God longs to help us! He scolded the Israelites when they turned to their neighbors for help instead of turning to Him. God wants us to cry out to Him!

So many times we struggle in our awkwardness and insecurities. We’re pitiful, lonely, unsure, trying and failing, never feeling good enough, never believing anyone cares. But He does!

Whether good or bad, God’s solution is always holy. And my trusting obedience opens His reservoir and gushes holy into my every day life.

niagara-218591_640

No matter how bad life gets, His goodness is more than sufficient, not only to solve my problems, but to create something wonder-full and miraculous from my life – and yours. Something beautiful, life-giving, refreshing and holy.

All we have to do is ask.

