Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was asked this question recently. By an atheist who kept insisting that because I’m not all-knowing, I can’t know anything about God. Including His existence.

But this guy forgets if that’s true for one, it’s true for all. And his lack of all-knowing-ness means he can’t know anything about God, either. Including His non-existence.

None of us were present in the Beginning – wherever, whenever, however the Beginning took place. And the Beginning can’t be replicated in a laboratory or test tube – although scientists have tried.

So, we’re left with two theories and a whole lot of opinions on those theories.

Along with just as many ideas about God and other gods.

But still, the basic question begs answering: How do I know God is real? Especially when conflicting ideologies are held up as the One, the Best, the Only, the Right, the True…

I find it interesting how some people are so determined to prove God doesn’t exist. But if He didn’t exist, if He isn’t real, the stories about Him would break down and eventually disappear. The fact that so many work so hard to eliminate Him from society (and history) is proof to me that He is real.

God has been removed from schools, the government offices, businesses, etc., yet still they feel a continual urge to push Him away farther, to erase His name from textbooks, to eliminate His words and teachings from public places, to replace His worship with counterfeit.

ten-commandments-187967_640

But even if they could get rid of God in every institution, they’d still be frustrated. God’s presence is felt all around us: in nature, in the atmosphere and universe, and in our hearts, our minds, our souls.

The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament shows His handiwork. Day unto day utters speech, and night unto night reveals knowledge. There is no speech nor language where their voice is not heard. Their line (sound) has gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. – Psalm 19:1-3

No matter how hard men try, they won’t be able to get rid of God or the evidence that He exists.

waterfall-983919_640

bee-on-cherry-blossoms-1403010_640

planet-1348079_640

This is one reason I know He’s real.

Another reason is the gift of His Son, Jesus Christ, and salvation paid.

And the other reason is the relationship I have with Him.

This overwhelming Presence in my personal space…

And His Presence felt between me and others who claim His name…

Specific answers to prayers I never told anyone but Him…

statue-1106976_640

His overflowing peace on my worst days…

Conviction and scolding and instructing on my ugliest days…

His provision, His gentleness, His wisdom and direction in my helpless days…

And His words, living and powerful, on printed page and by His Spirit, speaking truth to me in the every day.

I might not be able to convince you of His existence, but if you’ll open His book and ask Him to show you, He will.

Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! – Psalm 46:10

