Tags

, , , , , , ,

Amazing how love songs can express the heights and depths of love, from exhiliarating to depressing, to the ordinary, everyday wonder of loving and being loved, and the despondent emptiness from love lost or love never finding the one looking and hoping…

Ever wonder where this craving for the deepest kind of love comes from?

Ever wonder if there’s one person in the whole earth who can love you so fully, so unconditionally, so passionately, day after day and for all of eternity?

Below are human longings and declarations expressed in some of the most popular love songs written… and God’s responses to this yearning for love:

Love you inside and out, backwards and forwards with my heart hanging out. I love no other way (sung by the Bee Gees).

O Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, but behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain it. – Psalm 139

I could make you happy, make your dreams come true. Nothing that I wouldn’t do. Go to the ends of the Earth for you, to make you feel my love (sung by Adele).

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned… For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior… Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you… Fear not, for I am with you… – Isaiah 43: 2-5

norway-2244935_640

All photos courtesy of Pixabay

For a thousand years, I’ll love you for a thousand more (sung by Christina Perri).

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:35-39

You are the beautiful reflection of his love’s affection, a walking illustration of his adoration, his love makes you beautiful… and woman loved is woman glorified! You’ll make a beautiful… beautiful bride!  (sung by Barbra Streisand).

For I am jealous for you with godly jealousy. For I have betrothed you to one husband, that I may present you as a chaste virgin to Christ. – 2 Corinthians 11:2

Let us be glad and rejoice and give Him glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and His wife has made herself ready. And to her it was granted to be arrayed in fine linen, clean and bright, for the fine linen is the righteous acts of the saints. – Revelation 19:7-8

It’s ordinary plain and simple, typical, this everyday love, same ‘ol, same ‘ol keeping it new… emotional, so familiar, nothing about it too peculiar; oh, but I can’t get enough of this everyday love (sung by Rascal Flatts).

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases, Who redeems your life from destruction, Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies, Who satisfies your mouth with good things, so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. – Psalm 103:2-5

Blessed be the Lord, Who daily loads us with benefits, the God of our salvation! – Psalm 68:19

milan-2145896_640

I don’t know what the plan is, but you can share with me, ’cause I’ll be a listening ear to everything you say, I won’t turn away  (sung by Foster the People).

You number my wanderings; put my tears into Your bottle; are they not in Your book? When I cry out to You, then my enemies will turn back; this I know, because God is for me. In God (I will praise His word), in the Lord (I will praise His word), in God I have put my trust; I will not be afraid. – Psalm 56:8-11

The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and His ears are open to their cry… The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears, and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, and saves such as have a contrite spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all. – Psalm 34:15-18

Tragedy – when the feeling’s gone and you can’t go on, it’s tragedy; when the morning cries and you don’t know why, it’s hard to bear; with no-one to love you you’re goin’ nowhere (sung by the Bee Gees).

Turn yourself to me, and have mercy on me, for I am desolate and afflicted. The troubles of my heart have enlarged; bring me out of my distresses! – Psalm 25:16-17

Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify Me. – Psalm 50:15

…and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. – Matthew 28:20

In all the world you’ll never find a love as true as mine  (sung by George Strait).

For what great nation is there that has God so near to it, as the Lord our God is to us, for whatever reason we may call upon Him? And what great nation is there that has such statutes and righteous judgments as are in all this law which I set before you this day? – Deuteronomy 4:7-8

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. – John 3:16-17

good-friday-2264164_640

Whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am home again; whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am whole again (sung by The Cure).

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress; my God, in Him I will trust… Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, even the Most High, your dwelling place… – Psalm 91:1, 2 & 9

You showed me everything there was to know of love; time will not betray the truth… You are all I know of love, how could I ask for more? You’re everything I’m dreaming of; you’re all I need from love (sung by Josh Groban).

Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise You. Thus I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name. My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness, and my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips. – Psalm 63:3-5

My gift is my song and this one’s for you, and you can tell everybody this is your song, it may be quite simple but now that it’s done, I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words, how wonderful life is while you’re in the world (sung by Elton John).

The Lord lives! Blessed be my Rock! Let the God of my salvation be exalted. It is God who avenges me… He delivers me from my enemies… Therefore I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the Gentiles, and sing praises to Your name. – Psalm 18:47-49

All you need is love and I wanna hold your hand (sung by The Beatles).

O God, You are my God; early will I seek You; my soul thirsts for You; my flesh longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water… Because You have been my help, therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice. My soul follows close behind You; Your right hand upholds me. – Psalm 63:1, 7 & 8

hand-1876119_640And it’s me you need to show how deep is your love (sung by the Bee Gees).

Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the Lord! Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with the whole heart!

With my whole heart I have sought You; Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!

I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

And I will delight myself in Your commandments, which I love. My hands also I will lift up to Your commandments, which I love, and I will meditate on Your statutes. – Psalm 119

 ‘Cause all of me loves all of you, love your curves and all your edges, all your perfect imperfections; Give your all to me – I’ll give my all to you (sung by John Legend).

…for I am lovesick. His left hand is under my head, and his right hand embraces me… My beloved is mine, and I am his. When I found the one I love. I held him and would not let him go… You have ravished my heart with one look of your eyes… How much better than wine is your love, and the scent of your perfumes than all spices! Your lips, O my spouse, drip as the honeycomb; honey and milk are under your tongue… His body is carved ivory inlaid with sapphires. His legs are pillars of marble set on bases of fine gold. His countenance is… excellent as the cedars. His mouth is most sweet, yes, he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, and this is my friend. – Song of Solomon

honeycomb-347558_640

God created us to be loved by Him, and as beautiful as human love can be, His love for you surpasses any love ever given, ever experienced. And He wrote you the greatest love song ever.

 

