Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So long as we imagine it is we who have to look for God, we must often lose heart. But it is the other way around. He is looking for us. – Simon Tugwell

Eve blew it. In major proportions and on a universal scale. The one choice that reverberates still.

How often I thought, It’s not fair.

And how often I used to theorize the injustice of all humanity suffering the consequences of one woman’s sin thousands of years ago. I like to think I would have chosen better.

pomegranate-1444907_640

After reading Romans a few times I realized, neither is it fair for one sinless Man to suffer the penalty of all humanity’s wretchedness. Punishment undeserved yet submitted to, knowing it would provide eternal pardon, rescue from the curse, and the offer of redemption. For the joy set before Him… – Hebrews 12:2

The plan had been in place all along, since before Genesis 1, before the foundations were put into place for the creation of the universe.

Ruptured [broken] things repaired are made stronger, says Curt Thompson, PhD, with BeingKnown.com. The Fall of Genesis 3 becomes the opportunity for God to step in and show His power and His love, by not only repairing what’s broken, but by redeeming the broken. And restoring hope.

In John MacArthur’s book Twelve Extraordinary Women, he tells Eve’s story, giving glimpses of the redemption God extended to her.

A friend commented to me about Eve’s regret and heartache, for her entire life maybe? Or had God somehow provided her with a sense of all will be well? Did she find forgiveness not just in theory, but in daily practice and presence?

It’s a lesson for those of us willing to learn, that sin has consequences. Sometimes more far-reaching than we suspect.

Yes, it’s true – I don’t know where I would be without grace – and yes, God is sovereign and can turn every piece of my life that’s ugly and scarred into something beautiful, and then use it for good. But grace shouldn’t numb me to the effects of my stupid and self-serving decisions. Oh well, God will take care of it…

I think of the woman standing before the judge and having yet another baby taken from her.

hammer-719066_640

Her calloused response was, Whatever. I can always make another one. Who’s she thinking of? Who is central in her heart and mind? I shudder at that level of coldness in a mother’s heart.

Is this how we feel when faced with the effects of our sin? A vast difference exists between felt sorrow over the shame of doing something wrong, and true brokenness over my sinfulness. I can feel sorry for getting caught or for the disruption in lives, without seeing my sin from God’s perspective and being broken over my own depravity – this temptation to think I don’t need Him as much as He says I do, backed by this condition called Pride.

For You do not desire sacrifice, or else I would give it; You do not delight in burnt offering. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart— these, O God, You will not despise. – Psalm 51:16-17

For Eve and for all of us, thankfully, the story doesn’t end there.

The names of Eve’s third son reveals God’s promises to her, to them as a couple and as a family. The Hebrew form of Seth means appointed, foundation and tumult.

After the Fall the Lover of our souls barred the first family from the Garden where another tree grew: the Tree of Life. The fruit that sustains life; the original fountain of youth.

environment-2196690_640

He spared them from living forever in their sin – every human has been given the chance to walk away from this everlasting battle between good and evil. By accepting His salvation and embracing relationship with Him.

God knew better, omnisciently knows better. Do I really want to live in this imperfect body, ever young and energetic, with a wretched heart? With continued agitation and annoyance, forever and forever, with no hope of ending the conflict around me and within me?

God knew what we’d need even before we needed it. And He stepped in to provide it, where no one else could. He entered our world and spoke His truths, chronicled His promises, and pointed us to the hope of wholeness and reconciliation. To the day of no more hiding, no more blaming or denying, no more seeking in all the wrong places, no more struggling, wrestling and writhing against the nature of the beast inside me. To the day when there’ll be no reason to hide and nothing to seek, because I will enter His rest.

