Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

God’s committed love is like a quilted comforter spread over me – just as cottony Altocumulus clouds stretch across the October sky… a texture like fiberfill pulled thin or your great-grandma’s old washboard.

I walked beneath those clouds one recent afternoon, meditating on the breadth of His love.

Earlier that week I had read Psalms 62 and 63. And read them again, pausing on select verses to absorb the meaning. God’s committed love – for me. For each of His children.

No one loves me as much. And if everyone close to me loved me little or not at all, God’s love for me would remain the same. He can’t possibly love me more, and He won’t ever love me less.

Because Your lovingkindness – committed love – is better than life, my lips shall praise You. – Psalm 63:3

Better than life.

sky-1442954_640

My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation (hope) is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved. In God is my salvation and my glory; the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. Trust in Him at all times, you people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah – Psalm 62:5-8

On our team conference call that same morning, one of my co-workers read the first eight verses of Psalm 63. I basked in its truths a third time that day.

In this particular week, I needed these reminders of God’s commitment to love me. I was about to step into the most challenging role of my life, or I was about to be disappointed and perplexed like never before.

The next morning I read in John 14, Let not your heart be troubled… and Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.  And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.

It sounded like a promise – and an affirmation of God’s plans not only for me, but for the organization considering my resumé. Greater works than these… Jesus was about to leave the earth, but before leaving He would share His power with the disciples. And the miracles He worked in three short years would be worked by believers through the centuries A.D. Because there is much work to do. Kingdom work. The work of Rescuing and Redeeming lost souls. And saving the lives of the unborn.

Jesus said to him, Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed. – John 20

I rested in knowing Him and believing in Him, no matter the outcome, no matter how my prayers were answered. God’s plans for me are good, whichever way the path leads.

sky-116353_640

 

