Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Psalm 91. God’s promises of protection wrapped in poetic imagery.

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress; my God, in Him I will trust.

bald-eagles-1761466_640

This secret place is where trust dwells, where this child can rest content, where my relationship with my eternal Father deepens.

This is where I live, where I choose to spend my hours.

Each of us has the choice: where we will reside, where we will dwell, where our feet will take us, where our eyes will lead us…

In this chapter God’s promises are conditional – only for those who choose Him and plop themselves at His side. Resolute. Un-moveable.

It really is that simple.

Faith is the victory. Believing the sun still shines mid blinding clouds and the onslaught of storms. Rejecting doubt.

Because the sun still shines even though we don’t always see its radiance. Yet it’s there. If we have eyes to discover the evidence declaring its validity.

lightning-1550383_640

clouds-428168_640

sunset-926870_640

These promises are for those who believe He does all things well.

For those who believe He holds all Creation in His hands.

Who believe His plans are for good.

For those who praise Him no matter what.

Choosing to believe.

Choosing to praise.

Addicted to praise.

Refusing to allow anything to squelch my praise.

Instead, allowing praise to become my passion – my daily occupation.

Praising Him with all my heart, my mind, my body and soul.

And clinging to praise as my lifeline, a saving rope to keep me from descending into the black abyss of anger, hatred, bitterness, cursings. And disbelief.

Which leads to dark hopelessness.

stalactite-169217_640

No, thank you.

I’d rather believe. He’s proven Himself to be good too many times for me to believe otherwise.

Even when life takes a detour, I’ve learned I can praise.

And believe me, I’ve had my share of detours. But I still praise.

Because this is where I choose to stay, to take up residence and settle in – at His feet.

In His corner and under His wings.

And this is Who I’ve chosen to stay with, the One I’ve attached myself to.

eagle-860344_640

When I walk over to His side, He is on my side. Not because I am good, but because He is.

And there’s no other place I’d rather be than on the right side of His shield, clinging to truth, trusting His promises, hoping in His goodness.

He is good and He only knows how to do good. He cannot do anything else.

In this secret place there’s no reason to fear. No terrors or disasters, no destruction, no diseases, no evil or harm that can override His plans for me. Yes, they approach, they move in and tower over with threats and intimidation. But they are mere shadows.

He is my Creator, Father, my Protector, my Savior, and my God.

And I choose Him.

Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him. – Psalm 91